Posted in aspiring writer, change, education, kindness, mindfulness, new blogger, summer, Uncategorized

synchronistical summer

Listening to: So Close by Tom Misch and Carmody

To build off of my post from last week, let’s talk about my paradoxical summer. I have been getting up earlier than I ever have on a summer break. I have been able to get a lot more done and feel much more accomplished at the end of each week. I can count my blessings and tasks completed while remembering the fun I have had within each day. It has been great.

I am terrified of summer running by me at the blink of an eye.

I am making sure that my days are feeling productive and my time is well managed.

 

I recently learned about the word synchronistic and became obsessed with it.

Wiki Definition

I like this word because I feel like this is life, right? Not everything can be explicitly explained like we hope. Us as a human race want explanations for everything with hard evidence. It is hard for us to wrap our minds around “it is what it is.” Yet Carl Jung has been able to explain it, without actually explaining anything. A meaningful coincidence is such a paradoxical thought. It creates meaning, without meaning. It creates a relationship where there wasn’t one. If you are a spiritual person, you could say this is being done by a higher power, if you aren’t, you could say it’s merely coincidence – yet now it means something. 

What is this something though? Unknown

I guess it depends on your mood, your placement in life, your emotional stability…it depends on YOU.

Remember a couple weeks ago I was trying to let things go when they don’t go my way? The same practices will come into play with how much you let these synchronistic events mean something to you. Things can be what you make them, I have always been a true believer in that statement. I had an ex-boyfriend who didn’t like going to parties with me and my friends (there are many other reasons why he is now an ex.) He would say, “I don’t want to go because it is going to be awkward.” And every time I would tell him that it is only as awkward as he makes it. If he would make a conscious effort to engage in conversation that was appealing to him, then presto, more enjoyable.

I try to remember this advice for myself and try to teach my students about perspective of life. As I said last week, you need to take charge of your life and this week I am also going to say, take charge of your emotions. Do not let little synchronistic events ruin your day. These types of events can be so meaningful in the best of ways, but they can also tear down progress. Which effect would you rather let it have? I would assume we all choose the latter.

I preach this advice to my students all the time. Changing your attitude is everything and life is all about perspective. They find the most every day tasks or routines cumbersome and act like I asked them to do the requirements of a high school AP class. I always try to tell them to change their attitude on things, or look at things from a different view. Sometimes it works, most of the time it doesn’t. But they always get the job done. It may take ten minutes, it may take two days, but, hey, progress is all I can ask for. The last thing I want to do to both you and my kindergarten students is to negate ANY type of progress forward. I don’t want anyone to hate something that they once loved doing by over working it. This is something that is harder to teach to their parents, than it is them. Slow progress is better than no progress. Enjoy yourself in the process.

We need to save the kids in us, & we need to save the kids around us. –Kino Aquino

grow through what you go through

I am hoping that through my bucket list and maybe getting out of my comfort zone a bit the summer, I will be placed amongst some meaningful coincidences.

Have you ever sat next to someone on the airplane that you had so much in common with? Or struck up a conversation with a stranger who gave you some of the best advice? Stumbled upon the prettiest view or cutest shop or best restaurant while wandering aimlessly by yourself? These are a few of my favorite things.

IMG_0703

So let’s not have just a paradoxical summer, but also hope these paradoxes will create synchronism in our lives. And promise me that you will let them better you and teach you a great something in the process.

You might not be exactly where you want to be, but at least you are actively trying to change, and grow, and move forward in life.

 

Mel bIMG_0289

Author:

KINDERgarten teacher. I thrive on being kind... & okay, I like being funny too. :) In a search to find my sanity at work, I realized I need a creative outlet. I know, it sounds weird. "You're a kindergarten teacher, but you don't feel like you are creatively expressing yourself?" No. After giving all of my prescribed curriculum (which I won't knock it, because I really appreciate not having to create my own lessons everyday) but in order to have fun with my students on a daily basis, their learning development would be hindered by the lack of rigor in art projects and creative writing. This blog is my kindergarten art project. Not to mention a PSA to be KIND to one another, no matter where you are in life.

tell me what you think...

